No Threads to Display.

facebook

Like Tree3Likes
  • 2 Post By Nebula Mel
  • 1 Post By Socratic Monologue

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-27-2019, 10:39 PM

Default New here and new to the hobby

Hello everyone, glad to be here, like the title says, I'm a total noob lol. What got me interested is my boss at work got a salt water tank and I think it's very cool. Now I'm planning on moving to a new spot with a little more space and I started doing the research to get an aquarium, but quickly decided maybe the aquarium wasn't for me.. I started worrying about something catastrophic happening, and I don't want 30 gallons of salt water on my floors lol, so I shifted my thinking to a terrarium/vivarium. I remember watching some animal documentary and learning that poison dart frogs aren't poisonous in captivity and I thought that would be so cool.

So the plan is to move into my new spot, hopefully in May, and get some frogs, eventually lol.. mostly I've just been reading a lot of information about everything and watching some YouTube videos. I figure I'll get a 20-29 gallon vivarium set up and leave it for 2-3 months and see if I can maintain the right conditions before adding frogs. I love thumbnail frogs because of their small size and some of them are obligate feeders? They take care of their young right? Super cool, I'm really excited to see that, I haven't been to any local shops yet but there are a couple in the area, and there's going to be a Repticon show at the end of April that I want to check out for sure.

My favorite frogs are oophaga typographica, the blue jeans frogs! But after looking at some pictures I'm starting to also really like the oophaga pumilio rio colubre and oophaga pumilio loma colubre.

I didn't really mean to ramble on so much but, there it is lol. Thanks for accepting me into the community, I'm looking forward to learning more about frogs here.
fattypratty and Do_Gon like this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement