Support Our Sponsors
No Threads to Display.

facebook

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Socratic Monologue

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-24-2018, 05:54 PM

Question Newbie questions

Hello, I am new to frog keeping and don't currently own any frogs. I have been keeping fish for several years, and have done research and so know the basics of keeping frogs. I was going to start setting up a tank rather soon and I have some questions.

First, would you consider Dendrobates tinctorius, 'patrica' is the one I have my eye on, a good beginner frog? I like the look of them, I grew up by a creek and so am not bothered greatly by loud callings, whether it be all day, in the mornings and/or evenings, or at night, and I am fine with fruitflies, springtails, Isopods and most any bug for feeding. I am also home only 5 days a week, so would this be alright for feeding, if not I can ask a family member to take over for the other two days. I've heard after they get a bit older and fatter they can potentially go a week without food, and so just wanted to make sure.

Second, I was planning to build a 36 inch long by 20 inch high by 20 inches deep custom viv. How many frogs would you guys recommend for a viv of this size? I know more than 3 would go fine, but I was thinking 5-6. If I am wrong please tell me, as I want to get this right now before I get in too deep. Also, what mixture of males to females would you recommend? I keep seeing 3-1, but does this hold true for larger groups, that is if my viv would be big enough. I also know that these guys are more ground dwelling so the height of it is more for viewing.