No Threads to Display.

facebook

Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By Kalle
  • 2 Post By Okapi

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-04-2018, 08:30 PM

Default Newbie in the UK

Hi folks, I'm fairly new to to the hobby, I currently have a pair of juvenile going on adult Azureus in an Exoterra 18"x18"x24". The viv is planted up with a few broms and the usual suspects, bioactive, with a false bottom, but otherwise a basic set up.

I'm planning a proper rainforest build with a water feature (typical n00b, I know!) In the near future, but being in the UK it's difficult to find the hardware and supplies as the most popular products in the hobby are from the US!

Any other UK herps out there that can share their finds for hardware and landscaping viv equipment and supplies in the UK?

Lively to meet you all *waves*.

Here are my tincs for attention 😍
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20180915_143028_1538684958494.jpg (61.3 KB, 10 views)
File Type: jpg 20180915_143049_1538684993610.jpg (40.6 KB, 8 views)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-05-2018, 10:55 AM

Default Re: Newbie in the UK

Welcome!

I'm also from Europe so I know you frustration about finding similar supplies that are used in the US. Many things can be found though but under different brands. Only thing we don't really have cheaply available is egg crate (at least not in Sweden). So for a false bottom other options are needed. But there are many options and ways to construct a false bottom or drainage layer so that's not really a concern in my opinion.

My tip is to focus on what function you want out of it and then go search through big hardware stores and see what you can find. Try to think creatively and out of the box. That's how egg crate was discovered in the first place I'm sure of.
CrimsonRaine likes this.
Old 10-07-2018, 01:11 AM