Go Back   Dendroboard > Dart Frogs > Member's Frogs & Vivariums
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read Advertise

Support Our Sponsors
No Threads to Display.

facebook

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-02-2005, 08:17 PM

Default Construction Journal of my new Paludarium

I have been reading the forums for the past couple of months and finally felt that I have learned enough to start my own tank. I'm new to the dart frog hobby, but I have been keeping fish tanks for a while now. I have a 10 gallon and a 72gallon bowfront planted tank that has been running for a while now.

I have finally started building my paludarium to eventually hold a group of darts. It's going to be a paludarium and Im using the x-large exo-terra (18x18x24) for my project. I have just started not too long ago and have started taking pictures of the progress.

Since the tank is an akward shape, I couldn't find a decent stand to fit it so I had to make my own. I have never been too good working with wood but it came out alright. I used plans from this website to make the stand. http://www.fishandtips.com/index.php The stand is extremely stable, probably more than the one holding my 72gallon fishtank. Here are some pictures of the stand.

This is a picture of the front of the stand. I have already finished it and done 2 coats of primer along with most of the sanding. The only thing that is left is the final coat.

Here ist he back of the stand. You can see the 2x2" frame and the 3/4" plywood sides.

There is one big problem with the plans from that website. When you put the dimension of the stand you want in, the sizes it gives you are for the frame. It doesn't calculate the 3/4" plywood you have on each side. So as you can see in the pictures, the stand in a bit bigger than the base of the tank. I feel pretty stupid for not catching that before I started building it.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-02-2005, 08:29 PM