Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read Advertise

Support Our Sponsors
No Threads to Display.

facebook

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-13-2011, 04:16 AM

Default Exo 18" cube: 1st build

Alright, this is my first build so be kind

I found an exo-terra 18" cube on craigslist for cheap and went with that. It had been housing a gecko so when I got a chance I cleaned everything out and disinfected it with a 10% bleach solution. Once cleaned I let it air dry for a day and then reinforced the inside corners with silicone. Once that cured and the smell was gone I laid it on its back and got ready to add the background.

I was planning originally on doing a GS background with cork bark chunks in it. Kitty litter clay backgrounds didn't sound that secure and I was worried it would fall off. However, the previous owner of the cube used some clay to build a "floor" for his leopard gecko which I had thought was some type of cement but turned out to be just clay. It was rock hard and not going anywhere until I dumped copious amounts of water on it. Then it softened up and I was able to scoop it out with a spoon. I was impressed with it enough that I changed my mind and decided to try the kitty litter background.

Here's a tip: get a big bucket. Don't try to use one of the little 5 quart mop buckets, go ahead and get one of the big industrial buckets like the orange home depot bucket size. It will make life a lot easier.

I also used some gloves from the dollar store.