No Threads to Display.

facebook

Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By casbsp

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-27-2019, 12:08 AM

Default 17g Cylinder Vivarium

Hello!

I wanted to post a larger project I've been working on. I'm relatively new to the hobby and this is by far the largest planted set up I've put together, a 17 gallon custom built cylinder. This project is obviously inspired by Bunsincunsin's awesome cylinder projects as well as others I've seen online although mine is a bit rougher around the edges in terms of construction. Still seems to be working out well though!

Small epiphytic Peperomias are some of my favorite plants and I wanted to put a bunch in here. Ended up with 5 (plus one terrestrial variety) and I like how theyre growing in. Ive also been wanting some carnivorous plants, so I put a Nepenthes in here as well. So far its doing great and has put out 2 large pitchers with more on the way.

Everything seems to be growing in well although I'm a bit unsatisfied with the overall layout. I like the hardscape, but I'm feeling like my plant placement is a bit unnatural. I'm thinking about moving some things around/taking some things out, and perhaps adding another plant in the gap at the top where the two pieces of grape wood meet, and/or in the larger gap in the center at the bottom. All the random little sprouts you see everywhere is Dichondra, I often just toss a handful of seeds into whatever I'm working on as it sprouts very quickly and is super hardy. I feel like a may have gone overboard this time though and might end up trimming it back, especially where its growing higher up. Any advice or suggestions you guys may have would be greatly appreciated as again this is my first time with something at this scale.

Plant list is as follows:

-Begonia Prismatocarpa
-Dichondra (not sure what variety)
-Hydrocotyle Sibthorpioides (Pennywort)
-Masdevalia Nidifica
-Nepenthes (not sure what variety)
-Peperomia Eburnea
-Peperomia Emarginella