Go Back   Dendroboard > Dart Frogs > Member's Frogs & Vivariums
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read Advertise

Support Our Sponsors
No Threads to Display.

facebook

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-21-2008, 08:10 PM

Default Question about caging

I am new to the hobby of keeping dart frogs (I do keep a green anole and a redback salmander though) and am interested to know what is the best and easiest system of housing dart frogs. I have seen exo terras/zoo meds, long tanks, vertical tanks and I would like to know which one the experts use :wink: I would also be interested in any comments on lighting as I don't know what would be best for a dart frog. Any answers would be greatly appreciated.
Seth
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-21-2008, 08:27 PM

Default Re: Question about caging

If you are familiar with the exo-terras then I would suggest them, especially the 18x18x24 or larger. I am going to be using them pretty much exclusivley from now on, since they are so well designed and function very well(except that they need to be ff proofed). They have access for running wires in for hygometers and thermometers and for power to water pumps, which can be a major hassle with regular aqauriums with custom made front openings.
Exo-terra makes a very nice light hood that fits perfectly over the top that can hold 2 26w compact fluo. bulbs which is a fair amount of light. Plus as a bonus they have a slot for holding your exoterra brand hygro and thermometer on top!
I would not suggest the 12x12x18 since they are really too small for adult frogs.
Soon they will have a 34x24x18 which I am planning on getting. This will be a nice size encloser. I wish I knew when they will be releasing it.
Old 03-21-2008, 09:57 PM

I think it greatly depends on which type of frog you're looking at getting.