• 1 Post By kimcmich
  • 1 Post By kimcmich
  • 1 Post By Y0urbestfriend
  • 1 Post By CharValley

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-08-2016, 05:14 AM

Default New Vivarium

Greetings,

I'm new to DB (but not new to vivaria) and just finished a new 3'x3'x7' setup.

Here's a full-length and a detailed view (the images are hi-res - open them in a new tab to see all the detail):

The viv is primarily for orchids - but bromeliads were included specifically for dart frog breeding habitat - so I'll be adding a suitable arboreal-preferring species eventually.

I built this from the plywood up so if anyone is interested I can post images and a description of that process. The basic ingredients were: Plywood, epoxy, styrofoam, Ecoweb and Hyrgolon - and a set of curved glass shower doors.
maudefrog, Andrew Lee, Jjl and 5 others like this.

Last edited by carola1155; 03-08-2016 at 06:41 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-08-2016, 07:38 AM

Default re: New Vivarium

Wow, this looks sick, Am i correct in saying that you made a vivarium in a shower??? pretty cool idea xD. i'd love to see more pictures with better lighting or something, it looks a bit weird. not sure if thats possible though, keep us updated
Old 03-08-2016, 01:52 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by kimcmich View Post
Greetings,

I'm new to DB (but not new to vivaria)
We can certainly tell! Anyway, amazing vivarium and I sent a pm.

Old 03-08-2016, 03:52 PM

Phenomenal! Love the racinaea! Subscribed!
Old 03-08-2016, 10:25 PM

Default Re: New Vivarium

Quote:
Originally Posted by Y0urbestfriend View Post
Wow, this looks sick, Am i correct in saying that you made a vivarium in a shower???
Not quite - but close. Using a shower stall might have been simpler (and cheaper) - but my problem was fitting anything pre-frabricated through the narrow doors of my old Victorian house. I had to build this in-place so I used glass shower doors but the rest is waterproofed (w/ epoxy) plywood.