Fixing a mistake - Dendroboard
Dendroboard

Go Back   Dendroboard > Dart Frogs > Member's Frogs & Vivariums
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read Advertise

Support Our Sponsors
No Threads to Display.

facebook

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-27-2004, 03:24 AM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Fixing a mistake

Ok. I made a huge mistake. I used grapevine wood in my greatfoam background. I already covered everything with cocofiber, then was told that the grapevine will mold and rot. Now what do I do? Is there anything I can do to prevent from having to startover?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-27-2004, 03:26 AM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

It will take quite a while to "rot". I say leave it, it'll look cool as it ages. I had some on an aquarium that rotted, but that was constantly under water.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-27-2004, 04:11 AM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Well I plan on growing java moss in it, so mamybe it will cover it up a bit.
As long as it doesn't hurt the frogs, then I am cool with that.
Reply With Quote
 
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-27-2004, 05:02 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Siren,WI
Posts: 4,548
Thanks: 14
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

If you've already got the work into it, I would just try it. Maybee you can really crank the light into the tank and get the java moss to totally cover it, thus preventing the mold a little bit. Would be nice to still see the wood though, huh? If you're not in a hurry to get animals in there I would just try it and if it works, great. If not, the slimy rotten mess will just come out easier(if thats how it works)right?
__________________
Brian T. Sexton
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-27-2004, 06:39 AM
Randy's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Heath, TX
Posts: 292
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have grapevine wood in several of my vivs, and I actually prefer it now. Broms easily attach to it and the natural gnarls of the wood add character as well. I've had a very large piece in a tinc tank for over 2 years now, and it's still just as strong and sturdy as ever. This wood tends to mold a few times now and then when you first introduce it to a vivarium, but not to a point that it renders your viv unattractive. The mold is only present for a couple of days at a time anyway. I say give it a try!
__________________
Randy
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-27-2004, 11:18 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 161
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

As Randy said, it grows mould for a while (brush it off), then stops.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-28-2004, 04:15 AM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I am also using 3 large pieces of grapevine in my 80 gallon vivarium. I was aware of the rotting problem before I decided to use it, but as AJ, Randy and Jared said, there are more up-sides to using this wood than a little mold.
-David
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10-28-2004, 04:33 AM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Great! Well thanks everyone for encouraging words. I really appreciate it!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fixing our economy...? joshsfrogs The Lounge 111 10-10-2008 02:15 PM
HELP - Tank Fixing needed jejton Parts & Construction 5 05-30-2008 06:47 PM
fixing a cracked aquarium the_deeb Parts & Construction 2 04-21-2008 11:57 AM
Fixing a leak in a acrylic tank? Fishinfl321 The Lounge 7 09-01-2006 07:37 PM
HELP - Tank Fixing needed jejton General Discussion 1 12-31-1969 11:00 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.