Imitator tank pictures - Dendroboard
Dendroboard

Go Back   Dendroboard > Dart Frogs > Member's Frogs & Vivariums
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read Advertise

Support Our Sponsors
No Threads to Display.

facebook

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-24-2004, 10:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Indiana
Posts: 714
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Imitator tank pictures

Could i please see some of you imitator tank pictures? Thanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2004, 12:25 AM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hey dude, good to see you here. Go to kyle's page. He has TONS of pics. Look on the right side and he has links to his imitator tanks and construction pics.
http://www.kylesphotos.com/
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2004, 12:51 AM
kyle1745's Avatar
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 13,236
Thanks: 24
Thanked 375 Times in 104 Posts
Default

hehe, beat me to my own post... ;-)
Looks a little different now, but you get the idea...
__________________
Kyle
Site Administrator
http://www.kylesphotos.com
Reply With Quote
 
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2004, 01:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Indiana
Posts: 714
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the picture kyle and the link jared. What kind of fan is that? where can i find one? Also what kind of plants do you have in the tank? Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2004, 01:20 AM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Most guys just use computer fans. You can find them at any PC place or Radio Shack, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2004, 01:49 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Indiana
Posts: 714
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

How do you wire the fans? I was looking on radio shack's site and they all have to be plugged into the computer, they don't have an outlet wall extension.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2004, 02:24 AM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

There are quite a few ways. If you get a 12V fan, you'f need a transformer to step the voltage down. Most lights have that. I think the easiest way is to just get a 115V fan and just wire into the incoming voltage to the lights.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2004, 07:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 1,961
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Or go down to your local used computer store and see if they have an old AT power supply. You can also find them on ebay. The easiest way to recognize an AT PSUs is by a switch on a long cord. It's usually push button, but not always. You can't use an ATX PSU, because the power is controlled through the motherboard. They're a bit bulky, but the long cord with the switch on it means the PSU itself can be shoved out of the way behind a tank or something. They're cheap, and you don't have to worry about wiring at all. They come in wattages up to 300, and can run literally dozens of fans (with some Y splitters). Here's a pic of what to look for:

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2004, 11:27 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Indiana
Posts: 714
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

So if I get an AT powersupply i plug the fan(s) into that and then the AT powersupply into the wall? Thanks for the help both of you
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2004, 01:44 PM
FCA FCA is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 327
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You can use ATX power supplies, you just need to put a jumper in the motherboard connector. I use one on my reef tank to run my fans and the CCFL moonlight and it has worked great for years. If you want to know which pins to jumper, just let me know.

Paul
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2004, 09:17 PM
kyle1745's Avatar
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 13,236
Thanks: 24
Thanked 375 Times in 104 Posts
Default

I use fans with no connector then buy a universal power adapter with voltage selector so I can adjust the speed of the fan. For example on the tank i posted I run the fan at 1/3 or less speed and then block 3/4 of that into the tank. It does not take much air flow to keep the glass fog free. You also want a 300ma adapter that should run about $10-15 at walmart or local store.
__________________
Kyle
Site Administrator
http://www.kylesphotos.com
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2004, 01:33 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Indiana
Posts: 714
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks everyone for the help, i'll work on the fan situation this weekend
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2004, 02:50 AM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I guess I made mine too complicated. I ran a 12V transformer from the lights to the fan. It's an extra piece but the fan comes on with the lights.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First dart tank pictures Yungair23 Parts & Construction 4 11-20-2006 02:52 AM
20h tank with pictures JBR Member's Frogs & Vivariums 8 05-31-2006 10:04 PM
Imitator Pictures Please bluedart Member's Frogs & Vivariums 9 04-24-2006 04:32 AM
New imitator Pictures JJuchems Member's Frogs & Vivariums 7 02-10-2005 11:51 PM
More imitator pictures JJuchems Member's Frogs & Vivariums 0 09-27-2004 05:57 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.