Support Our Sponsors
No Threads to Display.

facebook

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By AquaAurora

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-13-2015, 07:53 PM

Post AquaAurora's First Viv

Greetings! I'm new to vivariums but I've been into Freshwater Planted Tanks for a while as well as and Ripariums (used terrestrial plants with roots in the aquarium but leaves/stems above water) and Aquaponics (gardening with tank water instead of soil- similar but different from ripariums as aquaponics keeps plants out of the tank fish are in but is connected to the filtration system so still using the tank water, and typically uses edible plants)

On another forum I frequent (for planted tanks) I stumbled onto an off topic thread about vivariums and at the mention of darts I asked another member posting there about it and they pointed me at a seller for captive bred frogs and states that most are captive and not (too terribly) expensive. I got very excited at learning this as I've loved dart frogs since I was a wee child, I even recall writing a huge (wasn't suppose to big so big) report on them for school when given the option to choose a our own subject. I've always wanted one/some but never considered before as back then I assumed they were all wild caught or insanely expensive... after some googling turns out that's not the case now at least.... So thanks a lot VAnative.. this is all your fault with your viv thread over there, now I'm hooked too!! >.<
I immediately started diving into vivarium set up details.. and admittedly nearly downed a bit in all the info. But I think I have it down now.. at least the start of it... and with a LOT of help from my very handy and techy husband, should be able to set up something decent (I hope).

This journal will chronicle the long journey of getting a tank setup and functioning.. and all the bumps along the way. Sadly there won't be much for frog photos for a while but will have a lot of equipment and "how I/we set up __" shots.