Go Back   Dendroboard > Dart Frogs > Member's Frogs & Vivariums
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read Advertise

Support Our Sponsors
No Threads to Display.

facebook

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2007, 08:51 PM

Default 12 gal viv

This is my first attempt at a vivarium. I've had an old 12 gallon Eclipse bowfront acrylic sitting around forever. It's a nice tank and I knew I would probably want my frogs in a bigger tank in the near future- so I didn't want to permanently Great Stuff/ silicone into it.

I used a piece of foam to attach all of the background to. I siliconed/coco fibered over the styrofoam. The corkbark 'tree' is just siliconed to the back, all cracks filled and covered. The piece had a natural curve to it at the base, so I turned it into a little cave. I used some extra styrofoam to make a roof and coco fibered it all.

I planted it today. I'd still like to add some riccia, and haven't yet put in any leaf litter. Plants include maidenhair fern, creeping fig cuttings, cuttings from a peacock(?) fern, some local mushrooms and moss growing in my yard and three mini-broms.

Substrate is an eggcrate false bottom, screened with orchid bark/cocofiber and LFS over it in that order. I wrapped the entire false bottom structure (eggcrate + pvc supports) in the screen to make a box to create wall so that I could line the edges with LFS so that the false bottom will not be visible.

Water feature is just a pond in the front with gravel. No water flow.

I am pretty happy with how it turned out. I am still figuring out the lighting. I have only 18 watts of 6700K on it right now- but am trading that in for a 28watt/6700K fixture in soon. (both C.F.)

I have no ventilation at the moment- I want to see how it does without any to help me to decide how much I need. I am borrowing a digital thermometer/hygrometer from work tomorrow to check stats.