55G corner viv - Need inputs / Something is missing - Dendroboard
Dendroboard

Go Back   Dendroboard > Dart Frogs > Member's Frogs & Vivariums
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read Advertise

Support Our Sponsors
No Threads to Display.

facebook

Like Tree20Likes
  • 1 Post By Charlie Q
  • 2 Post By Rasmus2809
  • 1 Post By jimmy rustles
  • 4 Post By Rasmus2809
  • 7 Post By Rasmus2809
  • 1 Post By rigel10
  • 1 Post By Rasmus2809
  • 3 Post By Rasmus2809

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-13-2014, 07:50 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Denmark
Posts: 24
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Question 55G corner viv - Need inputs / Something is missing

Hi there!

I have been working on this corner viv in the past year almost and now it's finally planted despite all the troubles i encountered along the way (including the front bottom glass cracked ).
I made my own LED DIY lighting, with Cree xm-l's and some red and blue diodes. It is a combination of 6500k, 3500k, 3 reds and 1 blue. They turn on and off at different times through the day to create a high light midday and low evening lighting. I'm actually in the progress of changing to dimmable GU10 spots but that's a whole other story
Now the pictures:

FTS:


Bottom part (sorry for the colors, i forgot to turn off the plant lighting)


Top part (colors again... i know)


The branch in the middle. Bought as Pyrrosia Serpens but i think it's too small?? Maybe it will grow bigger - already spreading along the branch


The orchid branch.


The Pleurothallis janetiae to the right has just bloomed a month ago. Many flowers




Top left corner.


Branch on the ground with some good moss growth and some unknown orchids i bought in Singapore last year.



Big center orchid. Just a regular one from a supermarket but it is blooming regularly which is nice.






I think the general design is pretty nice but i just think that there's missing something. I really cant figure out what it is. I have an idea that it's the amount of plants and the way they are organized but i don't know really. I have considered some homemade vines to go across in the middle but that might get too crowded and shady further down.

Do you guys have any ideas for some changes or additional things i could add? I'm am quite lost right now.

Oh, and by the way there are no animals in the viv. I think it is too sparsely planted for dart frogs right now, which is a shame.

Best regards
Rasmus H-P
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-13-2014, 07:59 PM
Charlie Q's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Rocky Mount, NC
Posts: 332
Thanks: 4
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
Default Re: 55G corner viv - Need inputs / Something is missing

I think that you have a good start, but that the tank needs a focal point. perhaps a nice piece of driftwood that can breakup the monotonous space, add texture to the environment and provide a good mounting place for some cool plants.

That would be my recommendation. good luck!
Judy S likes this.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Charlie Q For This Useful Post:
Rasmus2809 (10-13-2014)
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-13-2014, 08:07 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Denmark
Posts: 24
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: 55G corner viv - Need inputs / Something is missing

Thank you for your advice! A bigger focal point is a great idea, it might help a lot.
It will be difficult getting more driftwood in the tank though, it is kind of limited space for big pieces. But i will think about how it might be possible to add a bigger focalpoint.
Reply With Quote
 
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-13-2014, 08:28 PM
Charlie Q's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Rocky Mount, NC
Posts: 332
Thanks: 4
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
Default Re: 55G corner viv - Need inputs / Something is missing

Whatever you use, just make sure that it ADDS depth to the tank and doesn't make it any more 2D.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-13-2014, 08:48 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Denmark
Posts: 24
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: 55G corner viv - Need inputs / Something is missing

I tried twisting some rope and tested the look in the viv. I think it is pretty good actually! Some kind of focal point when it can't be driftwood Of course i would cover it with silicone and some kind of substrate but you get the idea.
It is a good place to mount some plants as well i think.

What do you think?

Judy S and FroggyKnight like this.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-13-2014, 08:52 PM
FroggyKnight's Avatar
TWI/ASN
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,950
Thanks: 304
Thanked 169 Times in 158 Posts
Default Re: 55G corner viv - Need inputs / Something is missing

I like it! The rope helps fill it in very well and I love your orchids, too.

John
__________________
Living in a frogger's paradise

Imis, vanzos, variabilis, fants, leucs, tincs, terribs, pumilio

Last edited by FroggyKnight; 10-13-2014 at 08:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-13-2014, 08:56 PM
Sammie's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,094
Thanks: 22
Thanked 73 Times in 70 Posts
Default Re: 55G corner viv - Need inputs / Something is missing

I like the rope too, I'd say go with it
I would also add some medium sized vining plants to the background which would give it much more dept.

Here's a good example: http://www.dendroboard.com/forum/mem...llon-tank.html
__________________
G.R.O.S.S.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Sammie For This Useful Post:
Rasmus2809 (10-13-2014)
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10-13-2014, 09:13 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Denmark
Posts: 24
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: 55G corner viv - Need inputs / Something is missing

Thank you four your opinions! I think i will cover the rope tomorrow if i can find black silicone.

How do you suggest i mount the vines in each end? I was thinking expanding foam on top of the background (which is made out of expanding foam covered with Titebond III and coco) but i don't know if it will work... I guess it is the only way
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10-13-2014, 09:32 PM
Charlie Q's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Rocky Mount, NC
Posts: 332
Thanks: 4
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
Default Re: 55G corner viv - Need inputs / Something is missing

awesome. the ropes definitely add depth. I also seconds sammie on the vining plants, you might even be able to get on to climb a rope.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 10-13-2014, 09:45 PM
jimmy rustles's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 146
Thanks: 2
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default Re: 55G corner viv - Need inputs / Something is missing

Gotta say that I like the rope even uncovered. looks like some kind of Indiana Jones jungle-pendant bridge out of ropes and wood tore apart.
Judy S likes this.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 10-13-2014, 11:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Union Bridge, MD
Posts: 3,076
Thanks: 412
Thanked 127 Times in 121 Posts
Default Re: 55G corner viv - Need inputs / Something is missing

The ropes may eventually rot unless covered with something...but I love the effect...anything that develops the back to front feeling will give that depth you are looking for...but I think it looks terrific...what kind of frogs do you think you would like to have...obviously the terrestrial ones wouldn't be the best choice, but there are so many choices...hard to decide.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 10-15-2014, 05:58 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Denmark
Posts: 24
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: 55G corner viv - Need inputs / Something is missing

I made some vines today. I will mount them tomorrow with some expanding foam. I made the vines with clear silicone and coco on top.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 10-15-2014, 06:02 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Denmark
Posts: 24
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: 55G corner viv - Need inputs / Something is missing

Regarding frogs, i will wait until i get some better plant growth. I am thinking some type of thumbnails but i don't know yet.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 10-15-2014, 09:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 114
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: 55G corner viv - Need inputs / Something is missing

I was gonna say leave it uncovered. It will degrade over time but moss and plants will also take root in it giving a really cool look, you actually gave me really cool ideas with this.....
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 10-15-2014, 10:19 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Denmark
Posts: 24
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: 55G corner viv - Need inputs / Something is missing

I'm glad that i gave you an idea
However I think that the naked rope look better on the pictures than in real life. It looks really weird when everything else is natural and you have a nylon rope in the middle.
Maybe if you make a vivarium with alot of manmade stuff like some fake ruins, broken ropes and some stones it will look nice.
Let me know if you make something nice with uncovered ropes! I think it could look nice.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 10-16-2014, 06:22 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Denmark
Posts: 24
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: 55G corner viv - Need inputs / Something is missing

The finished result with the homemade lianas / vines installed. Now i just need to buy a few more plants. Some orchids, climbing vines and small ferns and this vivarium will be pretty awesome i think.

HDR shot with 3 exposures, merged in Photoshop cs6.



Hope you guys like it, and thank you all for your inputs!
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Rasmus2809 For This Useful Post:
TapDart91 (12-12-2014)
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 10-16-2014, 06:44 PM
FroggyKnight's Avatar
TWI/ASN
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,950
Thanks: 304
Thanked 169 Times in 158 Posts
Default Re: 55G corner viv - Need inputs / Something is missing

The tank is really looking great! I think the vines really added something to the tank that was missing before, great call putting those in there.

Thanks for the info on the photo. I'm a pretty bad photographer, so that information is always helpful to me and others I'm sure.

John
__________________
Living in a frogger's paradise

Imis, vanzos, variabilis, fants, leucs, tincs, terribs, pumilio
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to FroggyKnight For This Useful Post:
Drewbacca (10-30-2014)
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 10-16-2014, 08:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 114
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: 55G corner viv - Need inputs / Something is missing

I wouldn't use nylon rope, I would find a natural too alternative like hemp or heavy duty twine something biodegradable and the train different small plants and mosses to cover the ropes giving them a "forgotten in the jungle" kind of feel. But now I has more ideas for my terribilis build xD kind of playing with a ship wreck on a jungle shore kind of idea......using some untreated wood, of course not pine. I'd have to find something that wouldn't be harmful to the frogs.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 10-16-2014, 09:01 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Denmark
Posts: 24
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: 55G corner viv - Need inputs / Something is missing

Thank you John! I really think the lianas were the final touch to the hardscape. Now i just need some good moss growing on them, and a couple orchids on the middle liana.Then a climbing vine on the one to the left together with some ferns as well.



It sounds like a great idea! I actually used one hemp rope on the first test with lianas as you can see on the first picture a couple of posts up - it's the brown one to the left going down to the floor. It looked pretty good. I hope you succeed making a nice viv with some ropes and stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 10-29-2014, 12:27 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Denmark
Posts: 24
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: 55G corner viv - Need inputs / Something is missing

I bought some new plants a week ago, here is the result:



The new plants are listed here:

Cattleya aclandiae x coccinea

Dendrobium tetragonum var. giganteum

Psygmorchis pusilla

Ascocentrum ampullaceum deep orange

Cirrhopetalum (Bulbophyllum) miniatum

Neoregelia liliputtiana "tiger"

Pyrrosia nummularifolia

Peperomia rotundinfolia "mini jungle morph"

Tillandsia caulescens

Peperomia numularifolia

Moss (sorry for the german):
Lappenmoos lebend
Sphagnummoos lebend

What do you guys think of the new setup? Let me know if i should change anything
mossbear, Peakone, rigel10 and 4 others like this.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 10-29-2014, 12:56 PM
rigel10's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Italy
Posts: 2,595
Thanks: 56
Thanked 189 Times in 180 Posts
Smile Re: 55G corner viv - Need inputs / Something is missing

Very very nice! This tank is amazing! What about frogs?
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 10-29-2014, 01:26 PM
Slengteng's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Austria (@work in Croatia)
Posts: 155
Thanks: 57
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
Default Re: 55G corner viv - Need inputs / Something is missing

You created a stunning viv! Love it!
__________________
Manuel

0.0.2 mint terribilis, 0.0.7 green aurotaenias
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 10-29-2014, 02:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 135
Thanks: 23
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default Re: 55G corner viv - Need inputs / Something is missing

What an improvement !
Congrats, keep us updated plz
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 10-29-2014, 04:32 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Denmark
Posts: 24
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: 55G corner viv - Need inputs / Something is missing

Thank you very much!

Regarding frogs i haven´t decided yet. For this viv i think Ranitomeya would be the best choice, but i can't seem to find anyone here in Denmark. So that's why there is no frogs yet.
Maybe i will build a smaller viv just for frogs with some more bromeliads and more foliage and larger bottom area for some dendrobates. I dont know yet.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 10-29-2014, 07:40 PM
rigel10's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Italy
Posts: 2,595
Thanks: 56
Thanked 189 Times in 180 Posts
Default Re: 55G corner viv - Need inputs / Something is missing

I believe that this person in video is Danish, so you may contact him. However, Denmark is near to Germany and the Netherlands, so it should not be hard to find frogs there. If I can - I who live in southern Italy, 1000 km from the border with Austria -, anyone can.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NQx7...BhZAnCWHXPDOjQ
Benji likes this.
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rigel10 For This Useful Post:
PDFanatic (10-29-2014), Rasmus2809 (10-30-2014)
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 10-30-2014, 10:41 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Denmark
Posts: 24
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: 55G corner viv - Need inputs / Something is missing

Thank you so much!

Some pictures from today:

New leaves on the bulbophyllum:


The Pleurothallis janettiae is blooming soon....


And the orchid from a supermarket is blooming soon aswell:
mossbear likes this.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 11-08-2014, 11:24 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Denmark
Posts: 24
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: 55G corner viv - Need inputs / Something is missing

3D-update:

I tried to make a 3D picture of my vivarium with the cross-eyed technique. It worked! I can't explain you how to do it since i'm not a native english speaker, but here is a link that explain it:
How to see 3D photos @ Neil Creek – Photographer
What you want to do is following (copied from the link above):

Sit square in front of your monitor, with the image directly in front of you, at about arm’s length
Sitting further back makes it easier – you don’t need to cross your eyes as much – but makes the image look smaller
Make sure you keep your head level horizontally, tilting your head will prevent you from merging the images
While keeping the stereo pair of images in the centre of your vision, slowly cross your eyes
The stereo pair will go out of focus and you will seem to see four images, as shown in the animation above
If you find it hard to cross your eyes, it can help to hold a pen in front of you and look at the tip with the stereo pair in the background
Gradually cross your eyes more and more – if using a pen to assist, start it close to the monitor and move it towards your nose
Continue crossing your eyes more, untill the centre two of the four images overlap and you see three blurry images, as in the animation above
Try and hold the centre image together – it is possible to “lock” it in place and see it as one image
The “locked” centre image should appear in 3D!
Now the tricky part, focus – while holding the 3D image in place, relax your eyes – drop the pen from your field of view if you are using it
If you can keep the 3D image locked and relax your eyes, it should eventually pop into focus, as in the last frame of the animation above

Now the picture:



I really hope it works for you because it is really amazing.
srrrio, Benji and Bob Hall like this.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 11-08-2014, 03:08 PM
rigel10's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Italy
Posts: 2,595
Thanks: 56
Thanked 189 Times in 180 Posts
Default Re: 55G corner viv - Need inputs / Something is missing

I'm not sure I have seen a 3D viv following these instructions, but I'm sure I have seen a very very nice viv!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 11-08-2014, 03:16 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Denmark
Posts: 24
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: 55G corner viv - Need inputs / Something is missing

Thank you
You should definitely try it out though. It is quite amazing once it works
It gets easier the further away from the picture you are. Actually, it is just the size. Small picture = easy, but decreased detail.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 11-08-2014, 04:17 PM
jimmy rustles's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 146
Thanks: 2
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default Re: 55G corner viv - Need inputs / Something is missing

2 pictures from a slightly different angle merged as a gif data like this http://twistedsifter.files.wordpress...agerholm-1.gif would be an easier way for a 3d picture.
__________________
Dart Vader
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jimmy rustles For This Useful Post:
Slengteng (11-08-2014)
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 11-08-2014, 04:35 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Denmark
Posts: 24
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: 55G corner viv - Need inputs / Something is missing

Yeah i know, but not nearly as effective With the 3D gif wiggle you just get a feeling of depth. This method it actually looks like frame from a 3D movie.
I just read that only 10% can make this work, so i guess it's a bit limited.

I'm sure that someone eventually will see it. Just try to search "cross eyed 3d pictures" on google - there's a lot of images using this method and some of them might be easier than my vivarium.
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 11-09-2014, 04:14 AM
zonz540's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 112
Thanks: 3
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default Re: 55G corner viv - Need inputs / Something is missing

Worked for me. Pretty cool, actually.
__________________
Mostly Thumbs & Pums
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2014, 06:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: willamette valley oregon
Posts: 272
Thanks: 55
Thanked 26 Times in 23 Posts
Default Re: 55G corner viv - Need inputs / Something is missing

That was pretty cool, worked for me as well. It just takes time to let your focus go while looking in one place and allowing your eyes to do the work. Most people try to hard and it won't work if you are forcing the issue. The eyes and brain are cool things.
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 12-12-2014, 01:51 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Vermont
Posts: 16
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: 55G corner viv - Need inputs / Something is missing

Never seen/heard of being able to see it 3d like that.

Problem now is hopefully my eyes uncross by morning .
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
corner, orchids, pictures, plants, vivarium

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Very Slow 55g Dart Viv Build calz Parts & Construction 5 05-22-2013 10:21 PM
Corner viv fido Member's Frogs & Vivariums 16 05-10-2010 02:56 AM
Newby with an idea... need inputs atrane21 Beginner Discussion 3 09-16-2008 10:52 PM
azureus in a 55g viv operationbutter General Discussion 6 12-30-2007 11:51 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.