• 1 Post By Pumilo
  • 4 Post By gex23
  • 2 Post By Encyclia
  • 1 Post By gex23
  • 1 Post By Encyclia
  • 2 Post By gex23

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-26-2020, 12:53 PM

Default Oophaga pumilio - is this a pair?

Any indication from pumilio 'interaction' as to sexes? Vid shows a 'sexed' but unproven pair of RFB - one of whom calls constantly.

Or is it just eggs / tads are the only true indication?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-26-2020, 01:52 PM

Default Re: Oophaga pumilio - is this a pair?

The one calling is defenitly a male, as you probably figuered out

But I've seen other males mimic female behaviour like tapping and rubbing the dominant male to avoid conflict.

so eggs are always the best indication to confirm the female sex..
Broseph (06-26-2020)
Old 06-26-2020, 04:09 PM

@Tijl thanks for that insight.

I'm new to pumilio, and the trio I started with ended up being a pair (male calls constantly, female has been observed transporting tads), plus a third wheel.

I assumed the third wheel was a subordinate female since it never calls and the dominant female sometimes acts aggressively toward it, but now I'll have to watch it for a while after I separate it from the pair before assuming female.

Old 06-26-2020, 05:50 PM

Don't forget males also transport tadpoles sometimes. I caught one of mine on camera 😉

https://youtu.be/PuYXvpnhxzs
Do_Gon and GakiShiga like this.
Old 06-28-2020, 10:49 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tijl View Post
The one calling is defenitly a male, as you probably figuered out

But I've seen other males mimic female behaviour like tapping and rubbing the dominant male to avoid conflict.

so eggs are always the best indication to confirm the female sex..
Cheers for clearing that up haha!

He literally calls her for hours on end with no reaction - though they've only been in the tank a few weeks....
Old 07-10-2020, 09:48 AM

Been a couple more weeks now, with both frogs packing weight on, especially the female.