facebook

Like Tree4Likes
  • 2 Post By mongo77
  • 1 Post By CAPTAIN RON
  • 1 Post By TheCoop

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-02-2016, 11:51 PM

Default I.D. Auratus and Varadera

I am rather new to the world of dart frogs and as such I have only recently acquired my new frogs. I have the hardest time identifying the different black and green Auratus and because of this difficulty I believe that I have made a mistake. Clearly, I have two very different shades of green. Now, these two frogs are still quite young and at different stages of development. Is there anyway to reach a consensus as to if they are both Panamanian, Hawaiian, other?

My second IDK moment. At the same time I purchased the more blue of the Auratus, I also got three Varadero. The first part of this IDK moment comes with the question of line breeding. These are all related frogs, something tells me that this is a no-no and that I should start separating now to avoid disaster later. The second part of this particular IDK moment is sexing. One of these little buggers is calling, I have absolutely no idea which.

Meet #1 who I am considering to be a female

#2 who I think may be a male?

#3 I haven't a clue

Thank you for all advice!
Emily
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-03-2016, 12:04 AM

Default Re: I.D. Auratus and Varadera

Hi Emily,
Welcome to the board. Any chance those are green and bronze auratus? If so, it is common for there to be a lot of color variation in the offspring. This may be true of other auratus, too, but I am not as familiar with them.

Mark
Old 05-03-2016, 01:14 AM

Where did you purchase the frogs? That may help. Best guess would be green and black Costa Rican and some form of blue and black

Old 05-03-2016, 01:45 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Encyclia View Post
Hi Emily,