Dendroboard

Go Back   Dendroboard > Dart Frogs > General Health & Disease Treatment
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read Advertise

Support Our Sponsors
No Threads to Display.

facebook

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-27-2010, 04:24 PM

Default Im new at this and I'm not sure what happened??

I picked the two small (?thumbnail?) leucomelas from the MI reptile show about 4 months ago. For 3 months it seemed like I couldnt feed them enough and they looked as healthy as could be. I then added some live moss, springtails and a small cave structure I bought from a local pet store. After I added the items both of the frogs would hide in the cave all the time and there hunger seemed to be gone. I thought they were just eating the springtails that I added but now im not so sure. Anyways about a week later I lifted up the cave to see if they were still alive and one hoped out and the other I found dead, I then took the cave out. A week after I found the first one dead the other one died. The second one still didnt look as if it had died because of hunger, because it still looked fine.

Now let me explaine my enclousure. I have a 10 gallon fish aquarium with the hood. I have those clay balls creathing a false bottom with a layer of the dead moss you can buy from the pet stores and then the live moss on top of that. It's lightly planted and has a some drift wood that is good in high humidity. Through the center there is a small "stream" about an inch deep with large size aquarium rocks. All the water i use is from the kroger refilling station so there is no clorine or anything. Oh yea i have a small pump supplying the "stream" with moving water so as to not let anything get stale.

I fed them mostly fruit flys although sometimes they would get some of the pin heads that i breed..