Dendroboard banner

Frogs dyeing

2K views 6 replies 6 participants last post by  Encyclia 
#1 ·
Hi-I am new to this and this is my first post.
I have an 18x18x 24 Viv. My first go with dart frogs was with leucs. They all died within 1 to 2 years. I stripped the tank and started over again with new everything. I then put in 2 juvenile cobalts and they grew up just fine. Within the last week they died off as well. I have 2 other 12x12 vivs with Benedictas in them and they are doing fine.
Any thoughts as to what is wrong with the tank or what i am doing wrong with the 18 x 18 viv? I don't want to put any more fronts in the tank until I figure out what is wrong. I dust the flies with Repashy Calcium plus.
Any feedback is appreciated

#2 ·
answer all these questions as best you can (cut and paste)

1. What species ? How long have you had the frog(s) and where did you acquire them ?

2. What are your Temperatures -Day and Night - Highs and lows ? Are the enclosure lights too hot ?

3. What is the Humidity like ? - Percentage or guesstimate. What type of Water are you using ? Describe your tank/enclosure and it's lid or top.

4. What kind of food are you providing, how much and are you dusting it ? What superfine powdered supplements are you using and are they fresh ?

5. Any other animals in the enclosure currently or recently ? Tankmates / other frogs ?

6. Any type of behaviour you would consider 'odd' ?

7. Have you handled or touched the frogs recently ? Any cleansers, paint, perfumes, bug sprays ect near the tank ?

8. Can you take pictures of EVERYTHING ? The frogs, the enclosure ? Take numerous pics of everything

Reactions: varanoid
#5 ·
I like how this is used here, a good added item would be, in the case of more than one animal dying, a notation of the time lapse between subjects expiring, and especially if the frame is tight, or appears simultaneous.