• 1 Post By BigBlu
  • 2 Post By Encyclia
  • 1 Post By davecalk
  • 1 Post By Socratic Monologue
  • 1 Post By sethandrew

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-11-2019, 04:31 PM

Default Frogs with a Quiet/Moderate Call

Hello! So I have an unoccupied 18x18x24 tank. Do you guys know about any dart frogs with a quiet/moderate call that would be suitable for the tank? I’ll do research on each individually mentioned species but I can’t seem to find much of a reference for which dart frogs are loud, moderate, quiet, etc.

I know there’s a few thumbnail species that are pretty quiet. And I was thinking about the “bumblebee” dart frogs but after listening to some of their calls on YouTube I’m worried they’d be too loud. Opinions?

I don’t mind calls at all but my housemates wouldn’t like anything obnoxiously loud.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-11-2019, 05:17 PM

Default Re: Frogs with a Quiet/Moderate Call

I'm still learning about it myself but having a pair of Tincs I can say firsthand if you're looking for a quiet frog with a lot of personality, you can't go wrong with Tinctorious .

Males do call but it's so low frequency you can't even hear it- I watched my male do it once and initially I didn't even realize he was calling because I couldn't hear it through the tank.
Raven Woodshaunter likes this.
Old 10-11-2019, 06:01 PM

Leucs are louder than imitators, and much louder than vanzolinii.

They don't (usually...) call in the middle of the night, though, and the calls really are pleasant (I think ). I accidentally brought a gray tree frog into the house a couple years ago when I brought my orchids in for the winter (into my bedroom). Holy moly, they are freakin loud!

- Whitman

Old 10-11-2019, 06:17 PM

Greetings,