Support Our Sponsors
No Threads to Display.

facebook

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Hyp81

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2017, 02:48 AM

Default P. vittatus

I am fairly new to dart frogs, though not to herp keeping. I got my first darts a couple months back and they are doing well-- leucs and auratus. I have an opportunity to trade for a 2.3 group of P. vittatus and am wondering what you all think about them for a person who is fairly new to darts. I see them listed as novice but I am not sure why or what I should consider when thinking about keeping them. Any opinions will be appreciated. :-)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-20-2017, 03:59 AM

Default Re: P. vittatus

My one vittatus female just laid 22 eggs. You would be getting 3 females. If 2 males and 2 females laid 1 clutch each of, let's say, 18 eggs each. That's 36 eggs. They can lay that size clutch again in less then 3 weeks time. Do you have the ability to raise and care for 20 tadpoles, let alone 76?
I love vittatus. Extremely shy, in my possession at least. But that's one thing to think about when getting breeding groups. And yes, easy frog to keep. Extremely quick too for their size. Nice Loud call. Sometimes I can hear them over the t.v. If your frogs are unproven or unsexed, then yeah sure, get the vittatus group! They're a neat frog to have. But, you may not see them as much. BUT YOU'LL HEAR THEM!!!
Old 01-20-2017, 12:19 PM

Vitattus are good beginner frogs in my opinion

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Old 01-20-2017, 12:32 PM

They were one of my first frogs. They are great, but I would recommend not getting a breeding group, or you will be up to your neck in tadpoles!

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk
Old 01-20-2017, 01:22 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmk View Post