To mix or not to mix (bloodlines) - Dendroboard
Dendroboard

Go Back   Dendroboard > Dart Frogs > General Discussion
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read Advertise

Support Our Sponsors
No Threads to Display.

facebook

View Poll Results: Are your pairs from the same offspring?
Yes, same cluch 4 22.22%
Yes, different cluch 2 11.11%
No 7 38.89%
Don't know 5 27.78%
Voters: 18. You may not vote on this poll

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-16-2004, 01:51 AM
TWI/ASN

Default To mix or not to mix (bloodlines)

I am new to the hobby and plan to purchase some frogs in the near future and hopefully get a pair to sucessfully breed.

Should I get 4 or 5 Aratus each from a different breeder or 4 or 5 from the same breeder/same parents?

Do offspring from the same parents carry ressesive genes that when paired produce the ressive trait like a genetic defect. For instance hip displaisia (sp?) in dogs. I am not quite sure if it is a ressessive gene but you get my point.

Would it be better to get the same breed/morph from a couple of different breeders to widen the gene pool and create more diversity?

I am sure with how small the hobby is now that offspring from the same parrents or siblings are being breed with out any knowledge.

What are your thoughts?

Jason

Frog Room ~~ TWI ~~ Collecting Fecal Samples 101 ~~ Drilling Glass DIY
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-16-2004, 02:23 AM