facebook

Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By Kmc
  • 1 Post By fishingguy12345
  • 1 Post By Pumilo

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2020, 10:10 PM

Default Isopods Fail Molting???

I've never attempted to culture isopods before so I'm very new to all their ins and outs. Over the past few days several have died due to what I think is failed molting (they appear half white, half normal). Is this a normal thing that just happens a lot or could there be something I'm doing/not doing that is causing this? I'm just looking for solutions on what I can do to fix this if I can or if this is even caused by failed molting.

They're just Armadillidium Vulgare isopods and I keep them in a medium sized plastic container with two, two-inch holes for ventilation. I've been using Eco Earth compressed coconut fiber for a substrate, and feeding them hardwood leaves from the trees around my house as well as some substitute foods such as fish food shrimp pellets and fruits and vegetables.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-03-2020, 10:30 PM

Default Re: Isopods Fail Molting???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cinderdraco View Post
I've never attempted to culture isopods before so I'm very new to all their ins and outs. Over the past few days several have died due to what I think is failed molting (they appear half white, half normal). Is this a normal thing that just happens a lot or could there be something I'm doing/not doing that is causing this? I'm just looking for solutions on what I can do to fix this if I can or if this is even caused by failed molting.

They're just Armadillidium Vulgare isopods and I keep them in a medium sized plastic container with two, two-inch holes for ventilation. I've been using Eco Earth compressed coconut fiber for a substrate, and feeding them hardwood leaves from the trees around my house as well as some substitute foods such as fish food shrimp pellets and fruits and vegetables.