• 1 Post By PhylloBro
  • 1 Post By PhylloBro
  • 1 Post By varanoid
  • 1 Post By varanoid

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-06-2019, 08:37 PM

Default Springtails and Dwarf Purple Isopods

Hello everyone,
I have two cultures of springtails and dwarf purple isopods in their own tubs. I've read a lot of different ideas and food suggestions. What would be the best food for each of them? Currently for my isopods are on charcoal with about an inch and a half of water, I feed them a mushroom and open the lid every 3-4 days for airflow. For my dwarf purple isopods I feed them freeze dried shrimp and fish flakes (this is what I was told to do at my local reptile store). Their bedding is a mixture of plantation soil, leaf litter and corrugated cardboard.

Sorry if this has been asked numerous times. I'm relatively new to springtails and isopods.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-06-2019, 11:47 PM

Default Re: Springtails and Dwarf Purple Isopods

Did you mean to say your springtails are on charcoal? I would only feed baker's yeast to your springtails to be honest. I've had bad luck using anything else because they've always been vectors for mites and my cultures end up tanking in productivity.

I keep my isopods on 50% ABG 50% leaf litter, throw some egg cartons and pieces of cork in there so I can easily remove them to sell or whatever. I feed fish flakes and low sodium dried fish I find in pet stores to them. I only feed my dwarf whites fish flakes though, they go completely bananas for them.
Old 05-07-2019, 01:23 AM

Check out the Stickys (or is it Stickies?...lol) in the Foods and Feeding section. There's an incredible amount of knowledge and experience there.

I feed springtails baker's yeast.

I feed isopods high quality fish food and crushed up high quality dog food.

Old 05-07-2019, 04:54 AM

My springs get bakers yeast and isopods get plant clippings vegetables and a combination of fish flakes and brewers yeast
Old 05-07-2019, 09:13 PM

Quote: