"Content" ads? - Dendroboard
Dendroboard

Go Back   Dendroboard > Miscellaneous > Dendroboard.com Feedback, Help Desk & Questions
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read Advertise

Support Our Sponsors
No Threads to Display.

facebook

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By aspidites73
  • 1 Post By SDRiding

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-27-2013, 09:10 PM
Scott's Avatar
Mod
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 8,458
Blog Entries: 6
Thanks: 104
Thanked 429 Times in 252 Posts
Default "Content" ads?

Is anyone else seeing "content" ads like this?

I'm trying to decide if this is new (from the new owners) or if my computer is having an issue (some type of virus ... ).

Please let me know if you see ads like this popping up in content on threads - thank you. I think I recall someone else mentioning it.



s
__________________
Join the Southwest Frog Group FB Page!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-27-2013, 09:13 PM
frogparty's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: carlsbad, california
Posts: 8,328
Blog Entries: 1
Thanks: 256
Thanked 426 Times in 369 Posts
Default Re: "Content" ads?

I'm not seeing anything like that. Not on my laptop, work computer or my phone



__________________
I like frogs with racing stripes
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-27-2013, 09:13 PM
Scott's Avatar
Mod
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 8,458
Blog Entries: 6
Thanks: 104
Thanked 429 Times in 252 Posts
Default Re: "Content" ads?

Yeah - I think my computer picked up a nasty at some point.

Just wanting to be sure.

s
__________________
Join the Southwest Frog Group FB Page!
Reply With Quote
 
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-27-2013, 09:27 PM
Scott's Avatar
Mod
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 8,458
Blog Entries: 6
Thanks: 104
Thanked 429 Times in 252 Posts
Default Re: "Content" ads?

Think I found it - something called "Continue to Save" - drops content ads/links in to your browser.

Something I downloaded in the last week snuck that one in. Hopefully removing it takes care of that.

s
__________________
Join the Southwest Frog Group FB Page!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-27-2013, 09:29 PM
aspidites73's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 1,747
Thanks: 117
Thanked 160 Times in 135 Posts
Default Re: "Content" ads?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott View Post
Yeah - I think my computer picked up a nasty at some point.

Just wanting to be sure.

s
Scott, download a free copy of malwarebytes from malwarebytes.org I have found that it picks up the most nasties and, without any false positives. easy to use G.U.I. and quite user friendly. I've been using it since 06'.
Eric Walker likes this.
__________________
Bad times have a scientific value. These are occasions a good learner would not miss. ~R. W. Emerson
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 05-27-2013, 09:38 PM
Scott's Avatar
Mod
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 8,458
Blog Entries: 6
Thanks: 104
Thanked 429 Times in 252 Posts
Default Re: "Content" ads?

I've had it in the past and used it till I had to pay for it.

Since this was happening while browsing, I went in to check the Tools area on Google Chrome - and found something that shouldn't be there.

I did try Trend Micro's Housecall - just for grins. It has been useful in the past.

Removing the "Continue to Save" to save extension got rid of the issue. I should have checked more thoroughly before posting here.

s
__________________
Join the Southwest Frog Group FB Page!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 05-27-2013, 09:51 PM
oddlot's Avatar
Mod
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: south jersey
Posts: 3,340
Thanks: 16
Thanked 165 Times in 134 Posts
Default Re: "Content" ads?

I'm glad you did because I just added chrome a couple of days ago and have been having similar issues.Now that you posted this it makes more sense.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 05-27-2013, 11:38 PM
kyle1745's Avatar
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 13,236
Thanks: 24
Thanked 375 Times in 104 Posts
Default Re: "Content" ads?

careful with those scott they can be more.
__________________
Kyle
Site Administrator
http://www.kylesphotos.com
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 05-27-2013, 11:41 PM
sports_doc's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New England
Posts: 5,602
Thanks: 265
Thanked 222 Times in 148 Posts
Default Re: "Content" ads?

I have not seen those ads, no.

Yung, is there any connection?

I do have a new box at the bottom of my page with

Quote:
'Related Searches'

Work at Home, Online Gaming....etc.
{ SOrry I dont know how to take the nice screen shot that Scott did }
__________________
Shawn Harrington
FACEBOOK:https://www.facebook.com/FrogWhisperer
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 05-27-2013, 11:43 PM
Scott's Avatar
Mod
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 8,458
Blog Entries: 6
Thanks: 104
Thanked 429 Times in 252 Posts
Default Re: "Content" ads?

The issue I saw had nothing to do with DB - I should likely remove this thread (and better yet researched it better before I posted).

s
__________________
Join the Southwest Frog Group FB Page!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 05-27-2013, 11:46 PM
sports_doc's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New England
Posts: 5,602
Thanks: 265
Thanked 222 Times in 148 Posts
Default Re: "Content" ads?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott View Post
The issue I saw had nothing to do with DB - I should likely remove this thread (and better yet researched it better before I posted).

s
I would not remove it. Lou had similar issues. I am sure you are not the only two.

If it has nothing to do with DB directly then you have identified that, and any member with an issue of their own can use this as a reference.

At the very least, to know who they can contact next
__________________
Shawn Harrington
FACEBOOK:https://www.facebook.com/FrogWhisperer
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 05-27-2013, 11:46 PM
GRIMM's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 1,367
Thanks: 105
Thanked 320 Times in 165 Posts
Default Re: "Content" ads?

An apple a day keeps all the internet virus trolls at bay...

By apple, I mean buy an Apple.

Bye.

Sincerely, an Apple fan.

Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 05-27-2013, 11:47 PM
sports_doc's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New England
Posts: 5,602
Thanks: 265
Thanked 222 Times in 148 Posts
Default Re: "Content" ads?

^ Must be a Canadian thing
__________________
Shawn Harrington
FACEBOOK:https://www.facebook.com/FrogWhisperer
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 05-27-2013, 11:48 PM
Scott's Avatar
Mod
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 8,458
Blog Entries: 6
Thanks: 104
Thanked 429 Times in 252 Posts
Default Re: "Content" ads?

Hadn't noticed your note Kyle - tracked this one down, but I'm watching closely for anything else also.

Thank you.

s
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyle1745 View Post
careful with those scott they can be more.
__________________
Join the Southwest Frog Group FB Page!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 05-27-2013, 11:49 PM
kyle1745's Avatar
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 13,236
Thanks: 24
Thanked 375 Times in 104 Posts
Default Re: "Content" ads?

They are still in the process of migrating the banner solution to my knowledge. Id suspect some changes over the next couple of days.
__________________
Kyle
Site Administrator
http://www.kylesphotos.com
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 05-27-2013, 11:54 PM
Bunsincunsin's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 750
Thanks: 28
Thanked 67 Times in 55 Posts
Default Re: "Content" ads?

I just started getting those this morning - only on DB, and only when I'm not logged in...

I'm using a Macbook Pro, if that makes any difference...


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bunsincunsin View Post
__________________
Shaun
thefictionsthatpersist
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 05-28-2013, 12:05 AM
Scott's Avatar
Mod
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 8,458
Blog Entries: 6
Thanks: 104
Thanked 429 Times in 252 Posts
Default Re: "Content" ads?

I'm not sure that this is associated with the new owner.

I'd recommend that you look at "Tools/Extensions" whatever you want to call them - on your browser. Look to see if any of them should not be there.

Otherwise - I'm not sure.

I was pretty sure I had seen it here (like Shawn mentioned) - which is why I posted ...

s
__________________
Join the Southwest Frog Group FB Page!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 05-28-2013, 01:24 AM
kyle1745's Avatar
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 13,236
Thanks: 24
Thanked 375 Times in 104 Posts
Default Re: "Content" ads?

I see some things when not logged in and have raised it to VericalScope. As mentioned though they are just starting to migrate this portion.
__________________
Kyle
Site Administrator
http://www.kylesphotos.com
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 05-28-2013, 03:44 AM
oddlot's Avatar
Mod
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: south jersey
Posts: 3,340
Thanks: 16
Thanked 165 Times in 134 Posts
Default Re: "Content" ads?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sports_doc View Post
I have not seen those ads, no.

Yung, is there any connection?

I do have a new box at the bottom of my page with



{ SOrry I dont know how to take the nice screen shot that Scott did }
I noticed this new box/banner today also.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 05-28-2013, 02:32 PM
Dedicated Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 5,114
Thanks: 175
Thanked 203 Times in 150 Posts
Default Re: "Content" ads?

This is what I`m getting, when I`m not logged in and I`m on Dendroboard ''lurking'' certain words are highlighted in green. When I click on these words a car advertisement or something just as annoying will appear.

John
__________________
John
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 05-28-2013, 03:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 273
Thanks: 22
Thanked 16 Times in 12 Posts
Default Re: "Content" ads?

I just saw the same thing as John... it's definitely not a rogue extension or any kind of malware. Don't do it Yungster.
frogface likes this.
__________________
-Mike
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 05-28-2013, 06:04 PM
Dedicated Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 5,114
Thanks: 175
Thanked 203 Times in 150 Posts
Angry Re: "Content" ads?

Also, has anyone besides me noticed when you`re not logged in there is a large advertisement post in several threads.
WOW.

John
__________________
John
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 05-29-2013, 01:23 AM
kyle1745's Avatar
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 13,236
Thanks: 24
Thanked 375 Times in 104 Posts
Default Re: "Content" ads?

I have raised this and the concern as well.
__________________
Kyle
Site Administrator
http://www.kylesphotos.com
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 06-03-2013, 03:30 PM
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 378
Thanks: 7
Thanked 59 Times in 35 Posts
Default Re: "Content" ads?

Hey guys, this is what I wrote in another thread addressing the same issue:

*****
Hello everyone,

Apologies for being late to answer this. The inline ads/post bit ads that you are seeing will disappear when you log in.

I hope this doesn't come across the wrong way in writing but do you guys not log in when you visit DB?
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 06-03-2013, 04:08 PM
Bunsincunsin's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 750
Thanks: 28
Thanked 67 Times in 55 Posts
Default Re: "Content" ads?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yungster View Post
I hope this doesn't come across the wrong way in writing but do you guys not log in when you visit DB?
Not always; only if I need to check PMs, want to do a search, make a post, etc.
__________________
Shaun
thefictionsthatpersist
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 06-03-2013, 05:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: State College, PA
Posts: 452
Thanks: 2
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default Re: "Content" ads?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bunsincunsin View Post
Not always; only if I need to check PMs, want to do a search, make a post, etc.
you can choose to stay logged in. The only time you will need to log in after that is when you clear your history
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NYC Geosesarma "Red Devil" and "Mandarin" rozdaboff NorthEast 0 11-23-2012 02:32 PM
What happened to the ""m." stelzneri spawining" thread TDK The Lounge 6 09-21-2010 02:25 AM
Request to see: 30g "tall" (24" x 12" x 24") pet-teez Member's Frogs & Vivariums 13 04-22-2008 04:09 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.