Go Back   Dendroboard > Dart Frogs > Beginner Discussion
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read Advertise

Support Our Sponsors
No Threads to Display.

facebook

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-17-2004, 11:34 PM

Default planning a large vivarium

I have a 230 gallon 3 foot tall hex tank that I'm planning on building into a vivarium.

I have zero experience in keeping arrow frogs or any frog for that matter besides local species.

I'm wondering if it's possible to keep more than one species in an enclosure this large or would I be risking hybridization? Will dendros crossbreed?

Also, it has been suggested to me that an enclosure this big would present a problem in feeding the frogs. Anyone want to elaborate? Or better yet, does anyone have an enclosure this big that they keep arrow frogs in?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-18-2004, 04:00 AM

Default Re: planning a large vivarium

moneymike,

We often advise our customers to start much smaller. In a tank that large you are less likely to see your frogs and therefore less likely to notice if a problem occurs.

Yes darts can and do crossbreed. Almost everyone will tell you to keep each tank species / morph specific. Cross breeding is looked upon as being very unethical in dart frogs. I have 3 or 4 cross bred dart frogs in my frog room. I purchased them to get them off of the market. They do breed but the eggs are never allowed to develop. They are very pretty frogs. I just don't want frogs on the market that may be mistaken as 'pure'. We actually have a photo of a Dwarf Cobalt and one of these crosses side by side and it's very difficult to tell the difference. I'll try to post it in the next few days.

The problem with the feeding in a tank that large is that it is such a large area the frogs probably would have a difficult time finding their food.