Dendroboard banner

Setting up my first Viv

763 views 5 replies 4 participants last post by  RichardSimm 
#1 ·
Hello All , I am just getting started in PDFs I am going to be getting and setting up my firs Viv in the next few weeks. I have opted for the 24x18x18 complete kit from Josh's frogs. After talking to the people at TCS and Josh's I feel that I am making the right decision of allowing my plants and microfauna a 6-8 week period to become established before I add the 4 D. Leucomelas "Fine Spot " that I am planning on getting. This is going tp become my outlet since I cant practically keep my morelia in naturalistic Vivaria anymore since I am trying to transition from hobbiest to breeder and will fingers crossed be producing 200 plus hatchlings every year. Any other suggestion from you seasoned vets of the PDF world for a long time herper first time PDF keeper ?

Cheers
Richard

#3 ·
Mostly just wanted to confirm. Since I posted this I have I have changed species to southern R. Variabilis I have been posting on some species specific threads and getting great responses. Any advice is always welcome. I have a pretty good understanding of Microfauna and their function within a Viv but its always nice to get confirmation from experienced keepers. one question would be would a 1 nozzle misting system be sufficient for a 18x18x24 Exo-terra ?

Cheers
Richard

#5 ·
Keep reding up and your patience will pay off. I am glad to hear that you're going to set up your tank and let it get up and running for a while before you get your frogs. There's no need to rush. Take your time and keep reading up. There's a ton of great info on this board. Just keep reading and you'll learn a ton and it will all pay off in the end. Best of luck!

#6 ·