Go Back   Dendroboard > Dart Frogs > Beginner Discussion
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read Advertise

Support Our Sponsors
No Threads to Display.

facebook

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-07-2011, 09:05 PM

Default First viv planning

Hi everybody, i'm new to the viv scene, but Iown lots of freshwater and saltwater tanks, including reef tanks and C02 injected high tech FW setups, so i'm not completely lost. I am in the very primal stages of planning my first viv, and I have been reading a lot. So far I have a few questions that I would like to get cleared up.

Heres the Plan: An 18x18x18 or 18x18x24 exo terra setup. I will be replacing the scene top with glass, and silicone the bottom to make it suitable for a viv. I want to plant with live plants, and I want to create some sort of moving wter feature. I want the water feature to consist of a small waterfall, followed by a very small pond or river. I know there are conflicting opinions about moving wter features, but I really like the aesthetics of it.

So here are my quesitons:

1. I am planning on using a submersible pump under the false floor to feed the waterfall, but what do I make the waterfall itself out of? Would great stuff work for it, or should I use some other type of foam?

2. How would I create the pond? I assume the same thing used to create the waterfall, just carved out where I want the water to stay, and then gravel that allows the water to spill over into the false floor where I want it to drain?

3. What type of lighting is suitable?

4. Is a mister necessary? If so, which one would you recommend?

5. Would a river being fed by the waterfall be possible? Would it be a detriment to the frogs?

These are just a few of the questions I have. Any input or advice is appreciated! TIA
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-09-2011, 02:19 AM

Default Re: First viv planning