Dendroboard

Go Back   Dendroboard > Dart Frogs > Beginner Discussion
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read Advertise

Support Our Sponsors
No Threads to Display.

facebook

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-17-2011, 10:19 PM

Default Creeping fig cuttings....how do I grow them??

Ok so I got a creeping fig from my local nursery for $6. It has a TON of vines. The guy there told me to just cut a thick branch and plant it roughly 1-2" in soil and it should grow. I have tried this...it is ok in my tank viv but in my open air viv the cuttings die overnight every night (3 nights in a row now).

I have also tried using sphagnum moss and pushing the cutting into my background. I have a clay background in my viv and a gs/silicone background on my open air terrarium....in both cases the fig is still dieing.

I am VERY new to gardening and have never grown anything else from cuttings so I dont know where I'm going wrong....any help would be appreciated! (Perhaps I am MAKING my cuttings wrong? I just cut the branch off where its mildly thick and "woodlike")
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-17-2011, 10:36 PM
TWI/ASN

Default Re: Creeping fig cuttings....how do I grow them??

your cuttings are probably drying out. They need 80+ humidity over a few weeks to root well. Ive just cut a piece and laid it on the wall in my viv (70-80 degrees, 70+ humidity) and it roots. Try taking a piece, laying it on moist spag, and putting it in the bottom of an inflated zip lock. Put that under low light. I use a 13w cfl to root cuttings that i dont put right into my vivIn a few days, youll see white roots growing out from all over. Keeping the humidity high is the important part.
Old 03-17-2011, 10:47 PM