Go Back   Dendroboard > Dart Frogs > Beginner Discussion
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read Advertise

Support Our Sponsors
No Threads to Display.

facebook

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-11-2010, 04:49 PM

Question Newb Question.... Auratus

I am very new to this and have taking a liking to the Auratus. What I was wondering was is this species semi arboreal or are they ground dwelling?? Also since petco is having their $1 a gallon sale I was thinking about buying a 20G and making it a vert tank.... Would this be ok for a pair or maybe a trio?? Sorry for the dumb questions i just haven't been able to find these answers in my research thus far. Any help/suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Matt
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-11-2010, 05:47 PM

Default Re: Newb Question.... Auratus

No questions are dumb my friend. Auratus are a great starter frog! From my understanding they like to climb as much as leucs so a 20 vert would be good for them.
Old 10-11-2010, 05:54 PM

any idea on how many i would be able to house in a 20 vert?

Old 10-11-2010, 05:59 PM
TWI/ASN

auratus are actually considered to be more of a terrestrial frog. All frogs - especially froglets and younger smaller frogs will "roost" or seek to climb and sleep in a higher spot though. That's mainly a defense against predators like spiders, scorpians and centipedes that forage for prey, at night and on the ground.

When they get older and heavier....they spend more time on the actual ground. Leucs do seem to climb a little more than Tincs and auratus though.

I would get a 20 gallon long at the petco sale....get a glass top as well (not on sale though).

2 or 3 auratus would be best suited to that size enclosure.
Old 10-11-2010, 06:03 PM