Dendroboard

Go Back   Dendroboard > Dart Frogs > Beginner Discussion
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read Advertise

Support Our Sponsors
No Threads to Display.

facebook

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-2009, 05:24 PM

Default Exo-Terra Mayan Habitat Kit good for beginners?

Hi! I'm brand new to owning frogs (I've had a couple of lizards in the past). I'm really excited about maybe owning some poison dart frogs so I'm doing plenty of research into the best setups for them etc.

I am very interested in the Exo-Terra Mayan Habitat kit - 18" x 18" x 24":
Exo Terra : Products : Habitat Kit Maya

I was hoping to add an Exo-Terra waterfall and fogger and live plants and moss.

I hope someone can answer my questions about it (I did try to search first):

1. Is this a good beginner tank?

2. More specifically, is it suitable for dart frogs? (I hope so!)

3. It seems like everyone is using a false bottom to stop the substrate being saturated - how does that play into this tank? It doesn't come with one, so would I need to add one to it?

4. How many dart frogs would be comfortable in a tank that size?

Thanks so much for your time! I hope to learn a lot from this forum.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-10-2009, 06:47 PM
TWI/ASN

Default Re: Exo-Terra Mayan Habitat Kit good for beginners?

Glad you are considering the hobby. Exo's are great however mentioned in the setup you are considering.

1) Foggers are dangerous to the frogs because there is current coming from that fogger that can literally be fet if you touch it, it could electricute your frogs

2) Waterfalls are great however the exoterra waterfall has a in fall pump (sinks into the back of the attatched resivoir, this can suck up some froglets and the waterfall resivoir depending on the size can be really deep and could drown some froglets)