• 1 Post By minorhero
  • 1 Post By fishingguy12345
  • 1 Post By Michelleh
  • 1 Post By Broseph
  • 1 Post By fishingguy12345

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-29-2020, 01:45 PM

Default Newbie with question. 20g long

Hi, newbie here still doing my research. My plan is to get 2 Azureus. I’m looking for something that will be easy for me. Just for reference I am 55yo female so I want something that isn’t going to be hard to build or take care of. I have a chance to get a 20g long, would this be acceptable? I really thought about getting a viv, but the 20g long is free, so that sounds good too! Is there anything I should know? Pros and cons are welcomed. Tia.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-29-2020, 02:03 PM

Default Re: Newbie with question. 20g long

Hi Michelle,
Welcome to the board!

That primary difficulty with a 20 long is that it is a very short tank. By the time you get a drainage layer and substrate in the tank, there isn't much vertical space left. It's possible to do, and I have several froglet grow-out tanks this size, but you will be missing out on some of the climbing behavior that those frogs would be engaging in if you had a taller tank. The tank also looks kind of odd from an aesthetics standpoint because of the lack of height. If it was me, I would look into a little bit taller tank. A 20 high at Petco would only be 20 bucks and that would be a better shaped tank for dart frogs. Of course, ideally, a front-opening tank will make you happier in the long run, but that's a bit more money and/or effort :-)

Best of luck,

Mark
Socratic Monologue likes this.
Old 06-29-2020, 02:10 PM

Out of the dozen vivs/terraria I have, two are top-opening/modified fish tank builds, and I don't like them at all.