• 3 Post By Broseph
  • 3 Post By Socratic Monologue
  • 1 Post By Socratic Monologue
  • 1 Post By fishingguy12345
  • 1 Post By Socratic Monologue

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-25-2020, 10:16 AM

Default Beginner advice on Ranitomeya setup

Hi! I'm a beginner in the hobby, or maybe not even that, as I don't yet have frogs. I have been planning a vivarium for years and just now got around to building it. It's not completely finished and definitely needs time to settle before I add frogs anyway, but I'm very excited to do so in maybe a few months.
My setup is a 35*35*50cm vertical tank with soon-to-be plenty of light, a slow waterfall/dripwall, air circulation from a 50mm fan integrated in the background with variable intake, false bottom, a small corner of water which the frogs can definitely escape from, three different bromeliads and plenty of spots for hiding and climbing. It's probably on the smaller side for keeping frogs, but I think a small group would thrive in there.
It's a bit dark, but a pic of the setup can be seen here for more details:
https://www.instagram.com/p/CBqsveqp...on_share_sheet

And with some context in place, I have some questions:
First of all, I added springtails and dwarf white isopods a few days ago. I also received a culture of Porcellionides pruinosus, but I didn't add it, as they seem very large and active, and of course I've heard the rumours of them eating (bad?) eggs and plant roots... I don't want this thread to turn into another discussion on that topic, but should I add them for additional CUC biodiversity, or am I better off sticking to the dwarf species and springtails?

My second question is, which frogs should I add? I have narrowed it down to Ranitomeya amazonica Iquitos or R. imitator, either Varadero or Chazuta. I haven't been able to find as much information about R.amazonica, and I was really hoping that someone could help me decide which one is best suited for me: