facebook

Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By Nicknack
  • 1 Post By Nicknack
  • 1 Post By Nicknack

LinkBack Thread Tools

Old 11-18-2019, 07:09 PM

Default First Time Dart Owner - Ranitomeya Amazonica

Hey guys, I'm new to the hobby but have always been obsessed with darts.
I recently received my first two darts; a pair of Ranitomeyaa Amazonica Iquitos.

I have had a 12x12x18 exo terra vivarium set up for about 3 months now, full of love plenty of bromeliads, ferns, climbing plants/vines and leaf litter. Plenty of hiding spots and plenty of springtails. I was finally able to find a source for a pair of frogs. (There's not many places here in Scotland that sell and breed them - hence the wait)

My vivarium is often steady in temp of around 73-78degrees. I don't use a mister as Im sure a mistking system is maybe alittle overkill for a tank so small? so I'm using a hand mister regularly, and although I don't totally trust the digital hygrometers I've had (I've had three different ones - and this one claims my humidity to be 99%) the tank is often looking wet and there's condensation on the glass

I also use a fogger which I made from a cool humidifier and a hose. And use this in the morning for around 5/10minutes when turning the lighting on, and in the evening before turning the lights off again.

The frogs so far have been pretty shy, think their getting used to the tank and finding their favourite hiding places, I've noticed them coming out more when I leave the room (I think they're plotting something behind my back haha)
I haven't noticed them eating much of the fruitflies but I think they're having a good go on the springtails.
I'm noticing that the FFs are finding ways of escaping which is annoying me, so I'm going to create a soap/vinegar concoction to catch the would be escapees.

Let me now what you think of my setup, as I say I am new so go easy on me aha. And would appreciate any advice or feedback or what I could/should improve if needed.

Side note.