Dendroboard banner

Dart frog and fish paludarium.

17K views 65 replies 10 participants last post by  jgragg 
#1 ·
Hello everyone, I am new to dart frogs. I have several aquariums w/ fish though so I am a fish guy lol. I would love to start a paludarium with a glass divider between the land and water, with dart frogs on the land part and fish and Amazonian plants in the water. I have a few questions:

First, I read a post on here from 2016 that said not to do water features. I was actually thinking of doing one, can someone tell me why I should not?

Second, the tank will be a 40 breeder. Should I just section off half of this tank? It is a 36x18x18 tank. This is what Josh's frogs recommend for 2-3 bumblebee dart frogs, which is what I want to get. If these frogs like to climb, should I cut the bottom out of the 18x18x18 Exo Terra tank and mount this on top?

Sorry for all the questions, I know next to nothing about keeping frogs.

#3 ·
They're fine, I think, if you want someone else to do the planning for you.

If you are thinking that you want to take the pre-planned route, I do not think a dart frog paludarium is something to take on just yet. Engineering anything as complex as you're talking about is a big task requiring a lot of research and, ideally, experience keeping frogs in a relatively more simple frog viv.

I'm a big downer on complex enclosures, mostly because I start from a different place. I learn of a frog species I want to keep, then learn what that frog needs to thrive in captivity, then (if I still want to keep that species after learning what it needs) I build a viv for it. Then I get the frogs.

No darts need water features/waterfalls/paludaria, so those things have never appealed to me.

#7 ·