Like Tree9Likes
  • 1 Post By Philsuma
  • 2 Post By Philsuma
  • 1 Post By Ravage
  • 1 Post By Philsuma
  • 4 Post By Tijl

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-19-2019, 06:13 AM

I am new to the hobby and I have 8 Tads that are just starting to Morph. I have 4 different springtail cultures All different sizes none of them seem to be producing great results. I have been feeding them bakers yeast and keeping and inch of water at the bottom lump wood charcoal that I pounded down to manageable size. I have tried to keep their temperature around 70. When I pull the lid the few springtails run and hide. I have tried to get them into my starter tanks by flushing them out with water and pulling out some the charcoal and I am not having great results. I have tried to supplement the froglets diet with melanogaster fruit flies and small dwarf white and purple isopods.

1.). Is there something else I should or can feed the froglets.

2.) Is there a better way to culture Springtails?

3.) Is there a better way to harvest the ones I do have?

Last edited by Querido42; 06-19-2019 at 06:15 AM. Reason: Typos
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-19-2019, 10:40 AM

Default Re: Springtail Problems

Hello

1: If it is summer where you live, maybe collecting aphids outside is an option?

2: I have better results at higher temperature. However, it takes a while to grow a culture strong. I dont start harvesting until 4-6 monts in. Then it is a really strong culture that can be harvested and used for up to a year.

3:I am pulling out charcoal and shake them of in the tank. But your st might not be ready to harvest.

BR
Magnus
Old 06-19-2019, 11:13 AM