No Threads to Display.

facebook

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By HawpScotch
  • 1 Post By Socratic Monologue

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-26-2019, 02:14 PM

Default Mist or don't mist plants?

I definitely struggle with humidity. I live in the desert, where our current humidity is around 6-10%. I've placed glass inserts over the top of my exo-terra, leaving a few gaps for ventilation, and gotten on a routine of heavy mistings once at night and once in the morning, which bumps me up past 80% for a few hours before it falls back down to 60%. This is going to be for a gecko, not dart frogs, so heavy misting with a drying out period to 60% is what they need.

I've been maintaining that for about 3 months now, just with a few hardy plants like pothos in there to get the viv started. I figured it was time to finish getting the thing planted, and was given a lot of cool little species as a gift to make up for an order that was lost in the mail. When I looked up care guides for theses plants, I found that a lot of them say to NOT leave water on the leaves. Granted, most of those are houseplant care guides, but now I'm worried. The pothos and fittonia have loved getting nice and soaked twice a day.

I've got creeping fig, marcgravia, and episcia (flame violet). Are these care guides bonkers? Will I be fine to keep misting everything to high heaven? Is it more a factor of leaf scorch, which I imagine is hard to do with LED lights in a terrarium? Will getting a fogger, rather than using a spray mister, make a difference due to the finer water droplets? Very confused on what to do here. I certainly can't use these as houseplants, because again, desert apartment, and the tank needs twice daily heavy misting to keep humidity up at 60%. I know from the past few months of struggling that if I cut back, I'll drop down to 40% pretty darn quickly.

All advice is appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-26-2019, 02:31 PM