Go Back   Dendroboard > Dart Frogs > Beginner Discussion
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read Advertise

Support Our Sponsors
No Threads to Display.

facebook

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-16-2004, 09:29 PM

Default Paludarium cost

Hey all, new to the site...i've been thinking of starting a new aquarium project with a 40-55ish tank, but then came across this site. I'm pretty new to this stuff, so i was wondering if the cost of a paludarium would be very costly. Excluding the animals, how would the cost of building a paludarium compare to setting up a freshwater tank of the same size? Thanks all.

-Luke
1.0.3 D. ventrimaculatus
1.0.1 D. pumilio "Cristobal"
1.0.1 D. pumilio "Rio Branco"

1.0.0 Pogona vitticeps
0.0.4 Hymenochirus boettgeri
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-16-2004, 11:51 PM

Im looking at a 56 pauladarium too. From what ive added up its quite expensive.

If u want fish u need clear water and that means some filter. I think a canister would be the best so u could also have a stream but thats at least $60.

Lights for a 56 like $100 plus bulbs so another $60

Then the tank wich is the costly thing (but u already have one).

Some sort of thing to put it on

Plants: for a big tank would be alot maybe $70

Glass for a lid like $30

And then all the other bits and bobs: eggcrate, substrate, background ( can really be costly)

So it seems alot idk maybe some one with experience building these could chime in. 8) I never set up freshwater tanks my mom always used to pay for those so i cant really compare but I would a NOT top of the line fish tank would be cheaper. Now I know people are gonna say well it can be really expensive (Co2 systems and all that good stuff) but im just talking a standard system :!:
Old 11-17-2004, 12:16 AM

I have done both, and actually depending on how you do things, a paludarium can be cheaper. You can get pretty inventive when it comes to building materials.

Some of the ways to cut corners: