Dendroboard

Go Back   Dendroboard > Dart Frogs > Beginner Discussion
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read Advertise

Support Our Sponsors
No Threads to Display.

facebook

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-04-2008, 05:19 PM

Default name that frog! and acrylic tanks?

bold

blue

loud call

works in groups

does such a species exist?

im currently researching what frogs i should get (im a total newb, although i have kept fat tailed geckos for years).

im currently thinking auzurus (i know i could only keep a pair) but they dont have a loud call.

also, im looking at getting a 46 gallon acrylic tank. is acrylic a bad idea? ive been reading on this forum about it warping.

thanks guys.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-04-2008, 06:08 PM
TWI/ASN

Default Re: name that frog! and acrylic tanks?

Well, you are right, azureus don't have a loud call or do well in groups. Leucs (black with yellow bands) are very bold, do well in groups, are a great begginer frog, and have a very nice loud call. Terriblis are also good, they come in orange, mint, and yellow morphs. They are also very bold, do well in groups, and have a great call. Another frog I almost forgot about is blue auratus. They are blue and black, and are very nice looking. They are fine in groups but females will sometimes wrestle (although usually they will be fine) and females will eat other females eggs sometimes. Their call isn't the loudest, however it can be heard outside of the tank. Some people find theirs are very shy, others are bold, mine are very bold, it depends on what type of tank they are in. I can't comment on the acrylic tank because I don't have any, but hopefully someone else can help you out there.
Old 05-04-2008, 07:23 PM

Blue and black auratus may be closest to meeting all of your requests, although some recommend you don't keep females together, others say a group is fine.