Go Back   Dendroboard > Dart Frogs > Beginner Discussion
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read Advertise

Support Our Sponsors
No Threads to Display.

facebook

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-01-2006, 07:01 PM

Default First venture into PDF's

Hello all, i thought i could introduce myself a little before my first post on Dendroboard. My name is Brandon, i'm a sophomore Biology major/chem minor (pre-veterinarian) at Wittenberg University (Springfield, OH), though i'm originally from Indianapolis, IN. I've been in the herp world for quite a while and have kept and/or bred numerous species of geckos (mainly rhacs and aussie species), lizards (beardeds, several chameleons), and snakes (mostly morelia, but have experience with many others). However, before i left for college i inevitably had to sell my collection. Believe me, after keeping animals for soo long it's a strange feeling coming home at night and not having to mist or feed a single thing!

Anyway, after going without them long enough, i'm getting back into herps. At first i was thinking a pair of snakes, something relatively small that could fit in my dorm room. However, after talking to my advisor (a comparative anatomist/herpetologist), my interest began to peak in PDF's
(he has several vivariums set up in his office. I'd always thought they were fascinating, but never really considered keeping them. After giving it
much thought, i decided i would like to try something new. Dart frogs don't take up too much space (they will be kept in a college dorm room for the rest of my sophomore year), are relatively easy to maintain, and are absolutely beautiful...so i decided i'm going to take the jump into them!

Being no stranger to the herp world, i'm pretty confident in my caretaking
abilities. However, i do have a few general questions about the frogs and
setting up their vivarium: