Go Back   Dendroboard > Dart Frogs > Beginner Discussion
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read Advertise

Support Our Sponsors
No Threads to Display.

facebook

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-25-2004, 03:05 PM

Default Request opinions =)

I have been into terrariums for quite a while, mainly growing carnivorus plants, orchids, and rare bonsai and have decided to add frogs to my tank. I have been researching and lurking forums for several months now and have drawn out plans, researched materials, and found a breeder in my area that has the frogs that i want. I researched the native locale of the frogs and chose plants accordingly so that the environment can be stable for the entire "community" all i have left is to build the tank and pop in the frogs. I have just a few questions that i would like answered on pure aesthetic opinion, and by no means backed by fact (i have about 300 pages of printed pages from around the world on facts)

Before reading further, note that i found a picture of a place in Suriname (where the frogs and plants are from) and i am trying to base my tank on that photo.

#1 I have decided to have a cascade waterfall into a shallow pond. I need to decide on a type of background. here are the options
a) acrylic "simulated rock background" by habiscape. basically 3D textured plastic painted to look like rock
b) real rocks piled up in one corner like slate or granite or limestone
c) cork bark with rocks at the bottom (i never have seen a spring come out of a tree before, but it might look neat)
d) a loose "pile" of driftwood that the water tumbles down
which do you all think would look the best and what are some of the pros and cons of these methods

#2 I have a 20 gallon tall tank that will be the home to my new frogs, will be set up with a false bottom, moving water and lots of different levels for the plants. i need to know which you think would look better as a creeper to cover the background