Go Back   Dendroboard > Dart Frogs > Beginner Discussion
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read Advertise

Support Our Sponsors
No Threads to Display.

facebook

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-17-2013, 12:50 PM

Default 29 gal salt water conversion

Hi, I am just beginning to get into this hobby, I found a 29 gallon salt water aquarium at a yard sale and bought it. I have a couple questions about converting it for dart frog use. First, i assume it is safe to use after a thorough cleaning? second, it came with an "all glass aquarium" hood and fluorescent bulb, its about 24" long, but i cannot find any information about if it is T8 or T5 or anything. so do you think that this is sufficient lighting for the viv? also, i have heard that fluorescent bulbs need to be replaced every 6 months, i don't know how old this one is, but i assume it is much older than that.

if you really need to change them this often, it seems like LED's would be the way to go. greater initial cost, but less replacement and less hassle. unless you have to change LEDs frequently too.

Thanks in advance for any input.
-Charlie Q
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-18-2013, 11:01 PM

Default Re: 29 gal salt water conversion