Go Back   Dendroboard
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read Advertise

Support Our Sponsors
No Threads to Display.

facebook

View Single Post
Old 07-07-2019, 04:40 AM

Default sterilizing FF culture cups

I'm not sure if this is a good forum for this post but I wanted to pass on something that I have been doing for several years now that might help others with their culturing and reusing culture cups WITHOUT the mite carry over.

I had problems with culturing fruit flies and trying to reuse culture cups. I'm sure a lot of you have had this happen too. You start with strong cultures and after a few months of culturing your fruit fly cultures either seem to become weak in size and also a smaller and smaller hatch content.

I tried using mite paper, bleach wash on the cabinet surfaces but there always seemed to be an infestation of those dang tiny mites and I would have to buy new cultures and brand new culture cups, find a new cabinet space to start culturing again.

A couple years ago I started trying to sterilize the cups with each reuse and found that yes I could 'Steam" them in a microwave, wipe them down and try to clean the lids as thoroughly as possible but the mites just simply kept coming back.

I haven't found a way to keep them completely out of the culturing cycle but I did find a way to 'sterilize' the cups without all the prep of microwave and a way to safely clean the lids that always seemed to get so disgustingly dirty and clogged with the waste material from the fly cultures.

First I take and remove as much of the old culture material from the used cup, rinse out any loose material and flush the water. If you have enough cups and can wait until they have dried out you can easily empty the 'ruffy' into a plastic garbage bag so that you are not handling any of it.

I put the lids into the bottom of the sink and while filling the used cups up with hot water, I let the hot water run over the lids to soften up the discoloration on them.