Dendroboard

Go Back   Dendroboard > Dart Frogs > Beginner Discussion
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read Advertise

facebook

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By epiphytes etc.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-13-2013, 04:22 PM

Smile Is it OK to feed Tadpoles Fish Flakes?

I follow Josh's Frogs video on feeding tadpoles (I am new to the whole Tadpole thing).

I bought the Frog Bites that he recommended and sell on his site.

He said he feeds his Tads about 3-4 Frog Bites a week.

So to start I put one Bite in each of my tadpole cups a week ago.

But the pellets are all still there one week later.

Some are in the same shape others have broken up and spread out a bit.

But since they are still in there and Josh feeds his tadpoles 4 times what I am feeding mine I am worried that they are not eating them.

I have never seen them eat off the bites either.

I was told by someone that they feed fish flakes to their tadpoles.

Is this ok?

He uses Omega One.

I currently have Saltwater Omega One Flakes would they be ok to use?

What are your guy's thoughts and opinions on this?

Patricia, Cobalt, Azureus, Leucomela, Green and Black Auratus, Vent Thumbnails
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-13-2013, 04:28 PM

Default Re: Is it OK to feed Tadpoles Fish Flakes?

I recommend grinding the flakes and pellets into a powder. I use a mortar and pestle but a coffee grinder will work also. The tadpoles will be able to feed much better when ground up. I use a pellet and flake combination on my tadpoles.
Old 04-13-2013, 04:28 PM

Yes feed them fish flakes. I don't know what the difference would be between salt water and fresh water flakes but it's probably color enhancers.
Old 04-13-2013, 04:30 PM

I use the color enhancing Omega One.
Blue_Pumilio likes this.

Livin' La Vida Vivarium
Old 04-13-2013, 04:33 PM