avocado tree leaves - Dendroboard
Dendroboard

Go Back   Dendroboard > Dart Frogs > Beginner Discussion
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read Advertise

facebook

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-12-2011, 09:39 PM

Default avocado tree leaves

Hi everyone! I am still kinda new to everything but I just finished my first real vivarium. I am looking for some leaf litter to cover the substrate. I know that oak and magnolia leaves work well, but I was wondering if avocado tree leaves would work. I have, well my neighbors have one and it hang into our yard and there are some dead leaves on the ground. Are the leaves toxic or anything?
Thanks,
Rachel
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-13-2011, 05:58 AM

Default Re: avocado tree leaves

This is one of those things where asking here isn't best as not many people will have experience. I did a quick search on wikipedia and noticed it can be but might only be if ingested. Did you do a search on the net for it? I think you would of found an answer quite fast. Still though, why risk it right. I use oak leaves from sponsors here and they're awesome! Much better than I could find outside and are thick and decompose slowly and help to create microfauna. Eventually you just add more on top. I also have bags of sea grape leaves and magnolia to mix in though sea grape leaves are pretty huge. I prefer oak and just bought a few more bags today actually.

I wish I could get leaves from the tropics that weren't cleaned once in a while so I can get some weird moss spores in my tank but they find their way in anyway.
Old 03-13-2011, 06:06 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJboston View Post